Use these 3 methods to grow stronger and heal.

People stop exercising because they get injured or bored.

Paco Chávez
8 min readOct 13, 2022
Photo by Anupam Mahapatra on Unsplash

I’ve been exercising for almost 16 years now. I started playing soccer at the age of 10 and that’s where my cardiovascular skills began to take off. My friends always said I had an extra lung inside my body because I was an absolute oxygen machine. I still am, although I’ve noticed a drastic difference in my muscular capacity, even though I could keep on breathing, my ligaments and tendons have become much more fragile. I used to play football for three hours a day when I was a teenager, anyone who has played football soccer knows it’s a very demanding sport. Constant bursts of speed, springs and muscular leg resistance is required to endure a match, leaving you exhausted and fatigued afterwards. I used to be okay with this fatigue when I was sixteen, I simply ate a banana and drank some electrolytes afterwards and went to bed, waking up refreshed and ready to train another day. Now I get invited to play a 4 vs. 4 match on a Sunday and I can’t feel my body until Wednesday. So playing a soccer match now is a luxury I can’t afford most of the time, due to the fact that I have to teach spinning classes and stay at optimum performance for my personal training sessions. Even though I don’t have to do every single exercise with my clients, I still want to be alert and aware…

--

--

Paco Chávez

I write about mental health, exercise, nutrition and mindset for your daily life.